You are here

Sarah Arends (left) is pictured with her winning Math Counts team when they were honored by District 30’s Board of Education in 2018. Board member Jeff Zuercher is pictured on far right. Photo submitted
Submitted Content
3:00 am CDT September 18, 2019

Maple School eighth-grade math teacher Sarah Arends is one of only 10 math teachers nationwide to receive the 2019 Edyth May Sliffe Award, which is presented to distinguished mathematics teachers for their outstanding work and dedication to the field.

“Thank you for your dedication to your students and teaching mathematical problem solving through the MAA American Mathematics Competitions,” said Jennifer S. Barton, director of competitions operations, Mathematical Association of America.